Check my site
by thebofh
11 months ago

My site, www.hucktoflat.com, has been flagged as an attack site. I added a html block from clickthru.net yesterday which is the only change in several weeks. I’ve just checked the server & there hasn’t been any changes to files since the last security patch for SMF. I believe the malware was being served from an ad or custom html block on my page. Is someone able to confirm that the site is now clean?

by Kaleh
11 months ago

It’s not clean yet. Firefox is pre-fetching info from the page and my Avast anti-virus is alerting me as soon as the search results page displays.

The following quick scan identifies the code that you are looking for:

http://wam.dasient.com/wam/diagnose?URL=www.hucktoflat.com&scan_id=65222

Your SafeBrowsing Diagnostic Report references [ gcounter .cn ] which may be included in the code identified by Dasient, or it may be listed in a more obvious way.

http://www.google.com/safebrowsing/diagnostic?site=http://www.hucktoflat.com/&hl=en

There have been reports of modification dates having been changed by the hackers, in order to hide evidence of files having been changed. Did you check your logs for access that you can’t account for?

You may want to use the following as a resource to guide you through thoroughly evaluating and cleaning your site.

How to remove the “This site may harm your computer”
http://25yearsofprogramming.com/blog/20071223.htm

How to prevent your site from getting hacked. How to repair a damaged site. Website security precautions
http://25yearsofprogramming.com/blog/20070705.htm

by Kaleh
11 months ago

The following blog post may also provide more detailed information specifically related to [ gcounter .cn ].

http://blog.unmaskparasites.com/2009/06/22/gstats-cn-and-gcounter-cn-malicious-code-in-js-files/#more-231

by thebofh
11 months ago

I’ve searched all .js files on the site & can’t find any of the code referenced in the Dasient scan, it also gets a clean rating from Norton Safe Web.

by Baz
11 months ago

Hi,

The bad code is still definitely there…. I’ve just seen it using my source code analysis tool… It turns up a number of times on your landing page….

Starts with:
function C5CACC47E7F{var B395E8402=726;B395E8402=B395E8402-

Remove all references like that, which are visible…

About Contact Us Terms & Conditions Privacy Policy Copyright